Romeo Oriogun, Author of “Nomad” wins the 2022 Nigeria Prize for Literature

Romeo Oriogun, a Nigerian poet and essayist, has won the 2022 Nigeria Prize for Literature for his poetry collection “Nomad.” As the winner, he earned $100,000 in cash and a plaque.

The book by Romeo Oriogun was chosen from a shortlist of three, which also included “Memory and the Call of Water” by Su’eddie Vershima Agema and “Your Crib, My Qibla” by Saddiq Dzukogi. “Nomad” was one of 288 others that entered the competition in 2022.

The judges thought “Nomad” was the best in terms of how well it was written. It was about migration, which is a very current topic, and it was written in a way that was full of lyrical figures. They stated, “The 67 poems in the collection were held together by a travel motif, marshalled in each poem with equal intensity, and linked to the African past, including the Middle Passage, and the African future.

Cheluchi OnyemelukweJude Dibia, Oke Ikeogwu, Tade Ipeadola, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, and Chika Unigwe are previous recipients of the award.

Romeo Oriogun is no stranger to being an award winner. He was awarded the Brunel International African Poetry Prize in 2017. He is a finalist for the Lambda Prize for Poetry and the 2020 Future Awards African Prize for Literature.

The graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop is also the author of “Sacrament of Bodies.”

Congratulations, Romeo.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More

In “Nomad”, Romeo Oriogun Earnestly Converses With Time And History – A review of Nomad by Jerry Chiemeke

In “Nomad”, Romeo Oriogun EarnestlyConverses With Time And HistoryRomeo Oriogun has always regarded his life as some form of “protest”, and in...

ASUU is on strike again. Who cares? SMH

The Academic Staff Union of Universities of Nigeria. ASUU. ASUU is on strike again. Who cares? They are thugs, they are always...


Ensconcing the soul wrenching fangs of grief –  A Review of Tolu A’ Akinyemi’s Collection Of Poems, On The Train To Hell by Oloyede...

When sorrows come, they come not in single spies, but in battalions.  -Williams Shakespeare In, On...


Mandla Langa Mandla Langa’s The Lost Language of the Soul was declared the winner of the University of Johannesburg Prize for...

N.K, Jemisin’s graphic novel,Far Sector, won the Hugo Awards 2022.

N.K. Jemisin’s graphic novel Far Sector won at the Hugo Awards 2022 at Chicon8, the World Science Fiction Convention in Chicago, USA on Sunday, September...