Scholastique Mukasonga joined other writers of African descent on the shortlist of the US National Book Awards 2022 announced on October 4. 2022.

The US National Book Awards are literary awards from the Northern American nations National Book Foundation established in 1936. They are conferred in the categories of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translated literature, and young people’s literature. In 2020, Les Payne, Tamara Payne, and Kacen Callender won in their categories while Walter Mosley was given a Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. Tiya Miles and Jason Mott won in 2021.

The longlists were announced from September 14-16 before the shortlists were revealed on Monday. The writers of African descent on there are;

Young Adult

Judges: Jewell Parker Rhodes (Chair), Becky Albertalli, Joseph Bruchac, Megan Dietsche, Lilliam Rivera

  • Victory. Stand!: Raising My Fist for Justice, Tommie Smith, Derrick Barnes, Dawud Anyabwile (WW Norton)


Judges: Ben Foutain (chair), Brandon Hobson, Pam Houston, Dana Johnson, Michelle Malonzo.

  • The Birdcatcher, Gayl Jones (Beacon Press)

Judges: Oscar Villalon (chair), Carol Anderson, Melissa Febos, Thor Hanson, Janet Webster Jones

  • South to America: A Journey Below the Mason-Dixon to Understand the Soul of a Nation, Imani Perry
  • His Name Is George Floyd Book, Robert Samuels and Toluse Olorunnipa


Judges: Kwame Dawes (chair), Juan Felipe Herrera, Keetje Kuipers, January Gill O’Niell, Mai Der Vang

  • Punks: New & Selected Poems, John Keene (The Song Cave)
  • Best Barbarian, Roger Reeves (W.W. Norton & Company)

Translated literature

Judges: Ann Goldstein (chair), Nick Buzanski, Veronica Esposito, Rohan Kamicheril, Russel Scott Valentino

  • Kibogo, Scholastique Mukasonga (Mark Polizzotti) (Archipelago Books)
Scholastique Mukasonga
Scholastique Mukasonga

Scholastique Mukasonga stated on social media, “Verified I’m very glad to be part on the @nationalbookfoundation shortlist as a finalist for the second time with my new book KIBOGO translated by Mark Polizzoti on @archipelagobooks ”

Imani Perry responded to her shortlisting with the tweet, “What an amazing group to be included in, in a wonderful year for books. I’m so very grateful ”

The winners will be made public at a ceremony on YouTubeFacebook, and the Foundation’s website at on November 16, 2022.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More

Multiple Award-Winning Author releases first collection of poems for Young People

Notable poet, essayist, storyteller and children’s author, Tolu’ A. Akinyemi’s latest collection of poems, ‘You Need More Than Dreams’ is a collection...

When We Were Fireflies

A new novel by Abubakar Adam Ibrahim is in the works. The title of the novel is When We Were Fireflies. It will...


JUDGES for the 2022 Earl Lovelace Short Fiction Prize have released a shortlist of six for the contest, according to the promoters of the project.

JUDGES for the 2022 Earl Lovelace Short Fiction Prize have released a shortlist of six for the contest, according to the promoters of...

Solar pyrotechnics

a solemn straggle of clouds peering